Barbra Streisand has never been considered much of a sex symbol – and standing around in panties, a Superman t-shirt, and a humongous Jew-fro sure doesn’t help.  Despite her odd appearance, though, Ms. Streisand is hailed as a queen by many Jewish women.

But for what reason?  Sure, she has that song The Way We Were and a couple other songs…I think.  Oh yeah, and that movie she directed – Prince of Tides, right?  Well, I’ve never seen it.  So I’m not really sure why she’s so famous and well regarded by the Jewish community.  But if our spiritual leaders like Linda Richman and Fran Drescher like her, then there must be something to her after all.

Oh yeah – now I remember.  She was in that pro-feminism movie Yentl where she played a girl who dresses like a boy so she can attend yeshiva.  I never saw this movie either, but from what I understand, her charade didn’t last long.  Maybe that’s because her disguise involved short, straight, blonde hair.  She looked more like Marcie from Married…with Children than any Jewish boy I’ve ever seen.  Maybe if Babs embraced her “roots” and portrayed herself with her natural Jew-fro, poor Yentl’s true sexual identity would have remained hidden.

Now this is more like it:

Hello, gorgeous!

